What We Know So Far About 2019 Eurovision Song Contest

Even though the memories of the 2018 Eurovision song contest are still fresh in our minds, some details of the 2019 contest have already been confirmed.

After Israel won the eurovision, all expectations were that next year’s contest would be held in Jerusalem. However, it is now confirmed that the contest will take place in Tel Aviv.

Expo Tel Aviv, also called Tel Aviv Convention Center will be the venue for the semi-finals on 14 and 16 May, and the final on May 18.

The Eurovision village, which is a festival area for the competition, will be established in Tel Aviv’s Charles Clore Park, which is located on the beach. In Eurovision Village, you will be able to see live performances from the artists, along with special events and public viewing of the finals broadcasted from the Arena.

Tickets usually go on sale in November or December of the previous year, and if everything goes according to plan, this year will be no exception.

On May 12, 2019 Tel Aviv Museum of Art will be the venue for the red carpet event. This is where the contestants will be presented to the press and fans. After the Red Carpet, the Opening Ceremony of 2019 Eurovision will also take place in the same location.

Along with last year’s winner Israel, Germany, United Kingdom, France, Italy and Spain will automatically qualify for the final as they remain the biggest financial contributors of the contest. From each of the two semi-finals, 10 more countries will qualify, and in total, 26 countries will compete in the grand final.

There has been many changes to the voting system in the past, but this year, no change is expected. Voting will consist of 50% National Juries and 50% Televoting.

On behalf of their countries, broadcasters have until October 2018 to submit their formal applications to European Broadcasting Union.

So far (as of September 24, 2018), 34 countries expressed their interest in participating in the 2019 competition. These countries are: Albania, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, FYR Macedonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Kingdom.

Even though there have been some calls and petitions to boycott the event in Ireland and Iceland, those countries are expected to participate in 2019 Eurovision.

6 countries have confirmed that they will not return in 2019. Those are Andorra, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Luxembourg, Monaco, Slovakia and Turkey.

Thank you for watching. Please share your thoughts in the comments section. See you in the next video.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Copyright © ViiDuu.com